Itty Bitty Boxes

I love my Apple AirPods Pro but they’re easy to lose in the bottom of a purse or even a deep pocket. There are lots of cool cases to purchase online, from cheap to ridiculously expensive. As a sewist, I see this as an opportunity to use some scraps.

I made a neon yellow case for myself a couple of weeks ago. I’ve made a couple of these little box pouches before, but this is the first time I used fusible batting instead of a plain interfacing, to give it a little more body and to protect the contents a bit. I added a lobster claw to one of the end tabs so I can clip it to my purse. I really love it and have had some nice comments on it.

It was a little more of a challenge working with something so small and having the extra bulk, but not that bad.

I was at the salon last week and my stylist saw my little bag and really liked it. I’m seeing her again today and she squeezed me in last minute. It’s also her last day for a while because she’s having some surgery and won’t return until early September, so I made another little case for her to thank her for getting me in last minute and wish her well in her surgery. My pouch is just a tad too long for the AirPods case, so I took a ½ inch off the length to get a better fit. While it does fit the AirPods better, that half inch made it a seriously more difficult sew. It was almost impossible to close the last seam by machine and I ultimately did it by hand. Even boxing the corners was more difficult. Who knew a little ½ inch could make such a difference?

I opted for a D-ring and split ring for the hardware, giving her some options. It’s really cute but I doubt I’ll make another that small; or if I do, I’ll use regular interfacing and not fusible fleece.

Everything I used was from my stash and my stockpile of bag hardware.

The original pattern from which I have made modifications is from So Sew Easy. I’ve changed the tabs, the stabilizer, the size and removed the bottom seam.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑